How it all started…

I’ve been asked a couple of times by various people to write a little pieces about babywearing, how I started it, how it changed my parenting approach etc. I thought it was passed time I gave it a go! So I’ll start at the start, how it all started and why I set up the Facebook page.

One of my first times babywearing
One of my first times babywearing

My partner was all for babywearing, even before the little fella was born, I was a bit skeptical at first. A lot of the carriers I had seen were very girly, but they were being worn by women! I said I’d give it a go when he arrived but there was no way I was using a wrap, I’d only use a carrier that was quite plain and was all buckles. So we went to a babywearing consultant and I tried on a few and picked out a Buzzidil, I thought it was the most manly option available at the time! It took me about 6 weeks to try it out, I kept thinking he was too small to be worn (ridiculous now I know!). As soon as I tried it, I loved it, because he loved it. He was so happy to be close to me, he slept, it calmed him when he was upset.

My first time wrapping
My first time wrapping

It didn’t take me long to realise that while my buckles were ‘manly’ they were not very comfortable around the house! Babywearing allows you to get things done, even if what you want to get done is play an hour of GTA V… However, the buckles don’t allow you to sit down comfortably, and they can be a bit constricting if your moving around a lot. We didn’t own a wrap back then, but my partner had rented one from our local sling library. I manned up and asked my partner to wrap my baby to me, I didn’t have a clue where to start with the wrap! She was more than happy to oblige (I have yet to meet a woman that doesn’t like to see a man in a wrap!). After a couple of times of having him wrapped to me I gave it a go myself, and I posted a picture on a babywearing group.

That picture then proceeded to go mental! It got 400 and something likes, loads of comments, and was used on other pages to promote babywearing. I found out that there was only one other dad in the group that proudly wore their baby. So I thought I’d set up a little Facebook page to try and get other dads wearing their babies. A place where dads could share their pictures and show new dads that they are not alone.

One Saturday afternoon I sat down with Katie and we set up the page, within 24 hours it had over 250 likes! I couldn’t believe it, and after a week it had over 1,200, now it has almost 3,000 and is growing all the time.

Keep Spreading

Getting in some Xbox time!
Getting in some Xbox time!
Leave a Reply

